FREE & BARGAIN EBOOKS – {01-07-2018}

By on January 7, 2018
The Greater Fool: A Novel by Joseph Hannay

The Greater Fool: A Novelby Joseph Hannay

FREE

Available through January 07 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

“Flashman meets American Psycho.”

Reynard Xavier has made it: CEO of an award-winning Real Estate investment fund in London; enormously wealthy; an enviable professional reputation. But he’s also a narcissist, a drug addict, and an alcoholic, with a sordid sex life.

Reynard is focused on securing his legacy – an ambitious new development in central London – but meanwhile his fund is losing money, real estate prices are plunging, investors are fleeing, and his closest allies are distancing themselves from him. The collapse of Reynard’s business would be catastrophic for him and his investors – and for the taxpayer. Opportunities to save the business – and for personal redemption – present themselves, but will he make the right choices?

A cautionary tale of self-deception and hubris that is both entertaining and insightful, The Greater Fool follows Reynard’s dramatic fall from grace. This is accessible, contemporary, literary fiction which provides a fascinating insight into the mind of a delusional member of the financial elite.

Show Me More:Literary Fiction

Pipeliner by Shawn Hartje

Pipelinerby Shawn Hartje

$0.99

Available through January 07 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

For seventeen-year-old Jason Krabb, high school life in 1990s Idaho is a world of cargo shorts, cassette tapes, and junk food. Plagued equally by algebra and puberty, Jason sets out to find a girlfriend and become a rock guitarist. His quest is irreversibly jolted when he attends a bonfire and meets an alluring girl from the other side of town and a rag tag crew who are bringing gas lines through the desert in order to keep the lights on in Portland and Seattle, places where Jason hopes to find his nirvana as a guitarist.

Meanwhile, things deteriorate at home. Jason’s pediatrician mom, Leah, sadly faces the twilight of her parenting years while his father, Curtis, contends with the enormity of running a big ticket research laboratory and coming to terms with his son’s wayward path.

Pipeliner is at once a coming of age love story and a comical timestamp of early 90s family life. Set in the fictional Idaho town of Helen Springs, pop. 58,000, its characters are as vibrant as the lofty peaks and purple sunsets of the high desert. Here we find rich farmers, poor ranchers, dutiful Mormons, government honchos, disgruntled vets, drug-dealing bruisers, irksome teachers, and spirited students, all doing their best to keep the lights on.

Show Me More:Coming of Age

Pennies from Burger Heaven (Lost Souls Mysteries Book 1) by Marcy McKay

Pennies from Burger Heaven (Lost Souls Mysteries Book 1)by Marcy McKay

BARGAIN

Available through January 07 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

Eleven-year-old Copper Daniels is homeless and alone. She spends her nights sleeping beneath the cemetery’s Warrior Angel statue for protection, and her days battling the mean streets of Remington, Texas, hell-bent on discovering what happened the night her Mama disappeared. While Copper and her rag-tag group of friends find danger at every corner, two horrors are certain: her Mama’s really missing and someone’s after Copper, too.

In the tradition of The Lovely Bones and Room, Pennies from Burger Heaven tells a dark story through the eyes of a child. With wit and wisdom, Copper Daniels will steal your heart, then break it in two.

Show Me More:Mysteries, Thrillers & Suspense

The Black Velvet Coat: A Novel by Jill G. Hall

The Black Velvet Coat: A Novelby Jill G. Hall

$0.99

Available through January 07 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

Twenty-eight-year-old struggling San Francisco artist Anne McFarland is determined to get a one-woman show, even though no one, including herself, believes she can do it. But when she buys a coat at a thrift shop with a key in its pocket, strange, even magical, occurrences begin to unfold, and she is inspired to create her best work ever.

Fifty years earlier, it’s 1963, and the coat’s original owner, young heiress Sylvia Van Dam, is headed toward a disastrous marriage with a scoundrel. In a split-second reaction she does the unimaginable, which propels her on a trip of self-discovery to nature-filled Northern Arizona. When Anne and Sylvia’s lives intersect, they are both forced to face their fears―and, in the process, realize their true potential.

Show Me More:Historical Fiction

Push Not the River (The Poland Trilogy Book 1) by James Conroyd Martin

Push Not the River (The Poland Trilogy Book 1)by James Conroyd Martin

FREE

Available through January 07 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

Not so many years ago, the author opened a long-hidden diary and stepped back into 1790s Europe, bearing witness to a young girl’s life in turbulent Poland. Anna Maria’s personal heart-stopping saga now beckons you to experience “all the sweep and romance of ‘Gone with the Wind’ and ‘Doctor Zhivago.'” ~India Edghill, Author of “Queenmaker” and “Delilah”

A panoramic and epic novel in the grand romantic style, PUSH NOT THE RIVER is the rich story of Poland in the late 1700s–a time of heartache and turmoil as the country’s once peaceful people are being torn apart by neighboring countries and divided loyalties. It is then, at the young and vulnerable age of seventeen, when Lady Anna Maria Berezowska loses both of her parents and must leave the only home she has ever known.

With Empress Catherine’s Russian armies streaming in to take their spoils, Anna is quickly thrust into a world of love and hate, loyalty and deceit, patriotism and treason, life and death. Even kind Aunt Stella, Anna’s new guardian who soon comes to personify Poland’s courage and spirit, can’t protect Anna from the uncertain future of the country.

Anna, a child no longer, turns to love and comfort in the form of Jan, a brave patriot and architect of democracy, unaware that her beautiful and enigmatic cousin Zofia has already set her sights on the handsome young fighter. Thus Anna walks unwittingly into Zofia’s jealous wrath and darkly sinister intentions. Forced to survive several tragic events, many of them orchestrated by the crafty Zofia, a strengthened Anna begins to learn to place herself in the way of destiny–for love and for country. Heeding the proud spirit of her late father, Anna becomes a major player in the fight against the countries who come to partition her beloved Poland.

PUSH NOT THE RIVER is based on the true eighteenth century diary of Anna Maria Berezowska, a Polish countess who lived through the rise and fall of the historic Third of May Constitution. Vivid, romantic, and thrillingly paced, it paints the emotional and unforgettable story of the metamorphosis of a nation–and of a proud and resilient young woman.

“James Conroyd Martin is in every way a modern day Henryk Sienkiewicz, weaving history and stories together in an accessible and thrilling manner.” ~Dr. Donald Pienkos, Political Science Professor Emeritas, UWMilwaukee

Show Me More:Literary Fiction

Prehistory Explained by Shane Leach

Prehistory Explainedby Shane Leach

BARGAIN

Available through January 19 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

Prehistory Explained explains how ancient aliens created the Earth, constructed the Moon, genetically-engineered us, and how they are still visiting the Earth today… This book also explains the rocket ships, interstellar starships, and other advanced technologies of the ancient aliens…

Show Me More:History

Absolution by Mary McPhee

Absolutionby Mary McPhee

FREE

Available through January 07 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

A burnt-out Catholic priest and a woman doctor with a past meet at a make-shift clinic on the Syrian-Iraqi border. It is a reconnection for them: ten years ago Father Joseph Luger (Lujhere) heard Jane Browne’s desperate, late-night confession. Jane–who was Angela Perrault in those days–was a seventeen-year-old student at a high school in a U.S. city where Father Luger taught religion. He was a young, untried new priest. She confessed to a terrible crime but evaded his questions about it, trying his patience. Although he doesn’t quite believe her, he gives her absolution. Soon after, there are serious consequences of his less than wise handling of a distraught young person.

Through their growing relationship under stressful conditions of aiding refugees from the Syrian rebellion, a strong attraction grows between them, plus the understanding that each is the reason the other is there, in such an unforgiving place. But forgiveness is what they both seek, or absolution. Their need for this is rooted in what happened ten years before. One of them is forced to make a devastating choice.

Show Me More:Literary Fiction