FREE & BARGAIN EBOOKS – {05-17-2018}

By on May 17, 2018
Wallace Street by Tess Devlin

Wallace Streetby Tess Devlin

FREE

Available through May 17 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

A serial killer preys on young girls and the neighborhood is distressed and seeking justice or better yet revenge. Who will find the killer, the detectives, the mobsters, the beat cop or one of the distraught neighbors?

Tension grows as the bodies pile up. The neighborhood is boiling over with rage

Everyone in this hardscrabble neighborhood has secrets, but for some it’s the biggest secret – murder!

Show Me More:Mysteries, Thrillers & Suspense

Sweet Hollow Women by Holly Tierney-Bedord

Sweet Hollow Womenby Holly Tierney-Bedord

$0.99

Available through May 17 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

Get to know Louisa, Maggie, Rhonda, and Carasine in this enthralling multi-generational saga for fans of Barbara Kingsolver, Rebecca Wells, and Fanny Flagg.
As part of a family where life happens to you, fifteen-year-old Carasine Busey is devastated but not surprised when her family drops everything in Sweet Hollow, Louisiana to follow her dad's shaky career as a welder. It's not especially shocking, either, when he abandons them all shortly after they settle into their new home in the city.

Carasine, her mom Rhonda, and the rest of the Busey clan have adapted to roll with the punches. From Rhonda's secret broken heart to Great-Great-Grandpa Jimbo's eccentric failed dreams, Carasine and her family are used to disappointment.

It's not until Carasine gets a second chance with an unlikely pair of long-lost relatives that she realizes her path in life might be up to her to navigate. Being their flesh and blood convinces her that there may be some hope for her after all.

Show Me More:Women’s Fiction

13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl: A Novel by Mona Awad

13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl: A Novelby Mona Awad

BARGAIN

Available through May 17 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

“Stunning…As you watch Lizzie navigate fraught relationships — with food, men, girlfriends, her parents and even with herself — you’ll want to grab a friend and say: ‘Whoa. This. Exactly.’” Washington Post

“A hilarious, heartbreaking book.” —People

Named one of the best books of the year by NPR, The Atlantic, Time Out New York, and The Globe and Mail

Growing up in the suburban hell of Misery Saga (a.k.a. Mississauga), Lizzie has never liked the way she looks—even though her best friend Mel says she’s the pretty one. She starts dating guys online, but she’s afraid to send pictures, even when her skinny friend China does her makeup: she knows no one would want her if they could really see her. So she starts to lose. With punishing drive, she counts almonds consumed, miles logged, pounds dropped. She fights her way into coveted dresses. She grows up and gets thin, navigating double-edged validation from her mother, her friends, her husband, her reflection in the mirror. But no matter how much she loses, will she ever see herself as anything other than a fat girl?
 
In her brilliant, hilarious, and at times shocking debut, Mona Awad simultaneously skewers the body image-obsessed culture that tells women they have no value outside their physical appearance, and delivers a tender and moving depiction of a lovably difficult young woman whose life is hijacked by her struggle to conform. As caustically funny as it is heartbreaking, 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl introduces a vital new voice in fiction.

WINNER OF THE AMAZON CANADA FIRST NOVEL AWARD

FINALIST FOR THE SCOTIABANK GILLER PRIZE

FINALIST FOR THE COLORADO BOOK AWARD FOR LITERARY FICTION

LONGLISTED FOR THE DUBLIN LITERARY AWARD

ARAB AMERICAN BOOK AWARD HONORABLE MENTION FOR FICTION

NAMED ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2016 BY ELLE, BUSTLE, AND THE GLOBE AND MAIL

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE MONTH BY THE HUFFINGTON POST, BUSTLE AND BOOKRIOT

Show Me More:Literary Fiction

A Heat Of The Moment Thing by Maggie Le Page

A Heat Of The Moment Thingby Maggie Le Page

$0.99

Available through May 17 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

Becky Jordan has had it with relationships. From now on her time and dedication won’t be lavished on her latest Mr. Wrong–or, worse, Mr. Hell-No!–just the dream travel job which has unexpectedly leapt into her lap. Finally, life is looking great.

Unfortunately, not as great as her sizzling-hot, take-charge new boss. Matt Frobisher is everything she doesn’t want him to be, but if anyone thinks she’ll risk her career on a workplace fling they can think again. No amount of Superman behaviour from him will make her roll over and play Lois.

At least, that’s what her head says. Her heart, however, doesn’t do logical. In desperation she finds herself a Mr. Distraction, one with no strings and plenty of appeal. But Mr. Distraction also comes with unforeseen complications. Kryptonite complications, like Becky’s sister. And when she shows up there’s only one sure thing: not even Superman can prevent the Disaster Fest that’s about to blow Becky’s life apart.

Warning: contains one guy determined to win the girl, one girl determined not to be won, and plenty of heat in the middle.

Show Me More:Humor & Satire

Bias Cut by Morgan Richter

Bias Cutby Morgan Richter

FREE

Available through May 17 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

Burned out and bitter after a string of disappointments, Nicola Strozyk takes a short-term gig assisting Laurie Sparks, the design world’s reigning enfant terrible. Barely in his twenties, Laurie has built himself an empire that encompasses a chic Manhattan boutique and a role on an obnoxious reality series. Part worldly sophisticate and part cheerful scatterbrain, Laurie is beautiful and extravagant; at nearly twice his age, Nicola is jaded and resolutely unglamorous. As Laurie’s burgeoning fame threatens to overwhelm him, Nicola finds herself struggling to keep him on solid ground.

When Laurie becomes obsessed with tracking down the designer of a mysterious coat, he drags Nicola along on a champagne-fueled quest that takes them from the New York catwalks to glittery Hollywood parties and swanky suites in Paris hotels. What begins as a lark takes an ominous turn when they uncover a decades-old mystery involving the murders of two young models. Along the way, the odd-couple camaraderie between Nicola and Laurie evolves into a fierce bond, which is put to the test when she must protect him from a pair of deadly threats: a mercurial fellow designer hell-bent on burying a dark secret, and an obsessive killer who has fixed his sights on Laurie.

Show Me More:Contemporary Fiction

White Star Phase by Scott Beckman

White Star Phaseby Scott Beckman

$0.99

Available through May 17 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

A liar, a killer, and a lunatic.

One seeks to elevate his own personal fame and fortune regardless of those who might be left floundering in his wake. Another will stop at nothing for vengeance. The last follows the will of totalitarian gods in pursuit of eternal glory.

They’re not traditional heroes, but the future depends entirely on them.

From different corners of the world, they will be drawn together by mysterious forces to determine the course of humanity. Each will be given incredible power; how they use it will determine whether mankind is doomed to extinction or offered eternal salvation.

From the author of The Sathakos Trilogy and Pantheon comes a new epic fantasy series, The Ascendants Chronicle.

“‘White Star Phase’ is a captivating, entertaining, and emotional read that will engage readers until the very last page.”
Melissa Koons, author and editor at Spine Press + Post.

Show Me More:Fantasy