FREE & BARGAIN EBOOKS – {10-12-2020}

By on October 12, 2020
The Secret Poison Garden (Rita Calabrese Book 1) by Maureen Klovers

The Secret Poison Garden (Rita Calabrese Book 1)by Maureen Klovers

$0.99

Available through October 12 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

Fans of M.C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin series or Alexander McCall Smith’s No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency will love this new series featuring Italian-American matriarch turned small-town crime reporter Rita Calabrese. Like Agatha Raisin and Precious Rambotse, Rita is more than a strong, independent woman forging her second act–she’s a force of nature.

For most of her life, Rita has doted on her lovable but exasperating “famiglia.” She’s always fortifying her down-on-their-luck neighbors with secret deliveries of home-grown vegetables and ravioli alla zucca, sneaking cannoli into her gruff husband’s lunch, and meddling in (or, as she would say, “improving”) the lives of her three grown children.

Then Rita takes a job at the local paper, and her profiles of Acorn Hollow’s eccentric citizens, including the soft-spoken biology teacher with a secret poison garden, soon make her the toast of the town. But when the beloved football coach is murdered and Rita’s investigation uncovers not only a messy love triangle, but also rumors of her ne’er-do-well son Vinnie’s involvement, she finds her newfound journalistic zeal on a collision course with her fierce maternal instinct.

Set in New York’s bucolic Hudson Valley and sprinkled with Italian phrases and customs, “The Secret Poison Garden” includes eight mouth-watering, garden-to-table Italian-American recipes.

Show Me More:Mysteries, Thrillers and Suspense

Suicide: A Mother's Journey Through Her Child's Pain by Melanie Balestra

Suicide: A Mother’s Journey Through Her Child’s Painby Melanie Balestra

FREE

Available through October 13 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

This book is about the insights of a mother after her daughter dies by suicide. The mother thought her daughter Leah was painfully shy at a young age but consistently was told by counselors that her daughter would grow out of it. However, this shyness was a sign of depression at a young age. Leah was a child in a dysfunctional marriage with no love or recognition from her Dad. Her mother believed the only way to help her was to move and leave the marriage multiple times without success. After Leah’s death, her mother finds diaries that Leah wrote at various times in her life. It is only at this time that Leah’s mother realizes how much alone Leah felt and how she suffered emotionally during most of her life. Leah portrayed one life to others but had no self-esteem or respect for herself. Her lack of belief in herself led to her untimely death by suicide. The book discusses the coping mechanisms that Leah’s mother used after her death and how f faith helped her realize that God always has a purpose and Leah would one her to go on. The goal of this book is through the insight into Leah’s feelings and actions, help parents and others realize signs and symptoms in their child or others of mental illness. Parents do not have to feel alone when working with a child or other person that is mentally ill. There are more and more resources to reach out to in mental health if you believe your child is mentally ill. Start looking when you first have a suspicion. Don’t ever give up. Survival through faith in God is possible.

Show Me More:Self-Help

The Girls of Pearl Harbor by Soraya M. Lane

The Girls of Pearl Harborby Soraya M. Lane

BARGAIN

Available through October 13 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

From the bestselling author of Wives of War comes a harrowing tale of four brave young nurses whose lives change forever in the wake of the 1941 attack on Pearl Harbor.

When Grace, April, and Poppy join the US Army Nurse Corps, they see it as little more than an adventure, one made all the better by their first station: Pearl Harbor, Hawaii. Joined at the hip, idealistic Grace, exuberant Poppy, and brave but haunted April frolic in the sun, attending parties, flirting with the handsome soldiers, and becoming fast friends with seasoned nurse Eva. Like the Hawaiian sun, their future seems warm and bright–until the infamous morning of December 7.

Within just a few horrifying hours, their sparkling hopes turn to black rubble and ash. Now embroiled in a war they never could have imagined, they must decide what truly matters to them and face grief as they never have before. Death may await them–but so do hope and purpose. In the midst of the carnage, can they find happiness and learn to fight not just for their country’s honor but for themselves?

Show Me More:Women’s Fiction

The Burnin' by Estevan Medrano

The Burnin’by Estevan Medrano

$0.99

Available through October 13 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

On April 23, 1940, a fire broke out at a night club in the segregated town of Natchez, Mississippi. It remains one the deadliest building fires in U.S. history, resulting in the deaths of over two hundred men and women–all of them African American. THE BURNIN’ is a novel about the aftermath of the tragedy from the accounts of a coroner, a nurse, and an arson detective.
Herb Jones, a local black coroner, receives a call in the middle of the night from a fireman informing him that a terrible fire has occurred at a dance hall in the town’s “negro district.” Herb drives over to the charred night club where some victims are burned beyond recognition. In addition to the strenuous process of transporting and embalming the bodies, Mississippi segregation laws only permit black coroners to handle black corpses, limiting the help available to him. As the town reeks of death and the funeral firm faces bankruptcy because of its financial obligations to the dead, he attempts to identify the bodies of neighbors, friends, and even relatives.
Meanwhile, Eliza, Herb’s wife, is a nurse caring for the scores of burned and injured at the only black hospital in town. The conventional treatment for critical burns involves a meticulous skin removal process known as the “tannic acid-silver nitrate treatment.”
Julian Winters, a brilliant but smug arson detective, is sent from Jackson to determine the cause of the fire and help draft safety codes to prevent a reoccurrence of a similar disaster. When a few locals that escaped the blaze describe a drunken man threatening to burn the place down that night, he tries to determine if the fire was a terrible accident or a mass murder.

Show Me More:Historical Fiction