FREE & BARGAIN EBOOKS – {04-03-2021}

By on April 3, 2021
To the Metal (A Paris of the South Mystery Book 1) by Kendric Neal

To the Metal (A Paris of the South Mystery Book 1)by Kendric Neal

FREE

Available through April 03 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

In the trendy college town of Asheville, known as the “Paris of the South”, hippies and hipsters ride a booming economy and huge influx of tourism, but when a wealthy young scion smashes into an embankment at 140 miles per hour, Mack Eagan, former junior-high football coach now turned private detective, is called to investigate. While the police assume the boy was drunk or on drugs, Mack learns there’s more at play–the legacy of a family tragedy, the fate of a dying child, and some dark and unpleasant truths about the people hiding behind the secrets. “To the Metal” is a story about love and loss, about growing up and growing old–and about those who don’t get to do either because death comes before their time. It’s a mystery, a revenge story, and a tale of secret lives.Excerpts from “To the Metal”: “This was backwoods country not too long ago, full of hillbillies and moonshiners and good old-fashioned mountain folk. Then George Vanderbilt came along in the late 1800s, fell in love with the place and decided to buy a trainload of it. The result was The Biltmore, still America’s largest residence despite the efforts of celebrity billionaires ever since to unseat it. With its own Versailles, Asheville became known as the Paris of the South and a gem of the Gilded Age, but the Depression came along and ruined the party. Saddled with more per capita municipal debt than any city in the U.S., it didn’t finish paying it off until the 70’s. As a result, the city went into a steep decline and for decades had a downtown so dead no one bothered to tear any of it down. Which turned out to be a blessing as Asheville is now a veritable treasure trove of classic art-deco architecture. The Vanderbilts never left and that Grand Old Dame, the Biltmore, added a winery and opened its doors to the PBS-tote carrying crowd willing to pay whatever it costs to rub elbows with American royalty. The town’s wedged into a 35-mile-wide valley surrounded by mountains and National Forest so there’s nowhere for it to grow. The tight quarters have given it an odd schism, as it landed on Money Magazine’s Best Places to Retire list at the same time Rolling Stone proclaimed it the “New Freak Capital of the U.S.” It’s a college town, UNCA and Warren Wilson College are here, both heralded for their “modern and innovative thinking”, but if you ask me, the most popular majors seem to be Making Useless Things Out of Stained Glass, Ceramics That’ll Never Sell and How To Draw Faeries II, III and IV. Last year, Lonely Planet named it the “Top U.S. Travel Destination”, beating out both NYC and LA, incidentally, and it’s a good thing, too, as the freaks may be an entertaining lot but they suffer from a severe case of un-, under- and anti-employment. Thus, the hippies & hipsters, hikers & bikers, brewers & farmers and writers & artists all dance along the poverty line while tourists and retirees watch them with amused detachment from the city’s generous complement of five-star restaurants, an arrangement that seems to work out fine for both sides. For now, anyway. Maybe one day there’ll be another French revolution, but only if they figure out how to make Molotov cocktails out of biofuel.”

Show Me More:Mysteries, Thrillers and Suspense

Long Summer Day (A Horseman Riding By Book 1) by R. F. Delderfield

Long Summer Day (A Horseman Riding By Book 1)by R. F. Delderfield

BARGAIN

Available through April 03 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

A great read for fans of PBS’s Poldark and Downton Abbey–first in the saga of a man returning from battle to an estate in the pre-WWI English countryside.

After serving his country in the Boer War, injured Lieutenant Paul Craddock returns to England to resume civilian life. But things have changed since he joined the Imperial Yeomanry three years ago. His father has died, leaving Paul as heir to a scrap metal business he has no intention of continuing. Instead, he purchases an auctioned-off thirteen-hundred-acre estate in a secluded corner of Devon. Neglected and overgrown, Shallowford becomes the symbol of all that Paul has lost–and a reminder of the gentle place his homeland once was. And here, on this sprawling stretch of land, he will be changed by his love for two women: fiercely independent Grace Lovell, and lovely, demure Claire Derwent.

Set in the English countryside in the first part of the previous century–from the long “Edwardian afternoon” following the death of Queen Victoria, to the gathering storm of World War I–Long Summer Day is the story of a man, his family, and a people struggling to adapt to life in a new world.

Long Summer Day is the first novel in R. F. Delderfield’s saga A Horseman Riding By, which continues with Post of Honour and The Green Gauntlet.

Show Me More:Historical Fiction

The Dead Key by D. M. Pulley

The Dead Keyby D. M. Pulley

$0.99

Available through April 03 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

2014 Winner — Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award — Grand Prize and Mystery & Thriller Fiction Winner

It’s 1998, and for years the old First Bank of Cleveland has sat abandoned, perfectly preserved, its secrets only speculated on by the outside world.

Twenty years before, amid strange staff disappearances and allegations of fraud, panicked investors sold Cleveland’s largest bank in the middle of the night, locking out customers and employees, and thwarting a looming federal investigation. In the confusion that followed, the keys to the vault’s safe-deposit boxes were lost.

In the years since, Cleveland’s wealthy businessmen kept the truth buried in the abandoned high-rise. The ransacked offices and forgotten safe-deposit boxes remain locked in time, until young engineer Iris Latch stumbles upon them during a renovation survey. What begins as a welcome break from her cubicle becomes an obsession as Iris unravels the bank’s sordid past. With each haunting revelation, Iris follows the looming shadow of the past deeper into the vault–and soon realizes that the key to the mystery comes at an astonishing price.

Show Me More:Mysteries, Thrillers and Suspense

Make Enterprise Great Again: The Gods Must Be Crazy!: Cradle of Communism to Catacomb of Capitalism by EPM Mavericks, Saji Madapat

Make Enterprise Great Again: The Gods Must Be Crazy!: Cradle of Communism to Catacomb of Capitalismby EPM Mavericks, Saji Madapat

FREE

Available through April 03 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

Book Trailer: https://youtu.be/pe50Rx1DjOc
♥I gave my son a paperback version of the book for his Birthday. He saw the video teaser for the book and loved the concept. He is an extremely intelligent teenager and is loving the book! He wants to be a Movie Director after college, so perhaps he does a Documentary or movie of your Book.♥- Sandy

I was trapped in a bottle beginning of the year, questioning my identity. But, I took that challenge as an opportunity by writing through my own metaphorical coke bottle. When the darkness rolled in, through thick and thin, an amazing community was there for me with helping hands. Within a few months, over 10K read the Gods Must Be Crazy in over a dozen countries, offering ~100 rave reviews (Amazon + GoodReads), and even achieved the #1 bestseller rank in many Amazon categories! Above all, I donate the royalty from this book for a greater purpose to Mother Teresa Mission (Missionaries of Charity).
As a token of gratitude, I would like to give away a New Year GIFT.

https://youtu.be/5ZlJncOLZjM

This book takes its title from the 1980 comedy film “The Gods Must Be Crazy,” in which an empty Coca-Cola bottle is dropped from a plane onto a community of African bushmen. The bottle is thought to be a gift from the Gods, but after it incites bitter fighting amongst the villagers, the tribal leader decides to return it to the Gods, embarking upon a journey to the end of the world. Through my own metaphorical coke bottle, I visualize the dawn of a daunting new Empire. This book serves as both a testament to the past glories of the current American Empire and a guidebook to restoring Capitalism and Enterprise.

Show Me More:Nonfiction

Light Up The Night by Weston Parker

Light Up The Nightby Weston Parker

FREE

Available through April 06 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

Reckless. That’s what they call me.

I rush into burning buildings to save lives, and I wish it was for a just cause.

It’s not. It’s to prove that I’m worthy of love.

A messed-up knee, and my dreams of being in the NFL are gone.

I’m fearless when it comes to fighting back death. That’s not what messes me up.

It’s living that gets me.

The last thing I need in my life is a woman, no matter how bad I want one.

And yet, this one has me pacing the floor.

The single mom who owns my crew’s favorite restaurant is sweet, loving, and hot.

It’s not that easy, though. She’s lost too much in her life to give out free chances to men like me.

But I’m not asking for a chance.

I’m taking it.

Every Good Girl Deserves a Bad Boy. ~ Weston

This is a stand-alone story in a series of firefighters at the same firehouse. Enjoy the HEA!

Show Me More:Romance