TODAY'S FEATURED BOOKS

The Witches of Dark Root by April Aasheim

The Witches of Dark Rootby April Aasheim

FREE

Available through October 23 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

"There are some secrets darker than witchcraft." - Dora Maddock
Deep within an Oregon forest is a town called Dark Root, a town steeped in magick, mystery, and witchcraft.
But for Maggie Maddock, Dark Root is also a prison. Forced to work in her mother's magick shop, she watches the world world move forward without her. When a mysterious stranger offers to take Maggie away from it all, she leaves without looking back.
Seven years later, Maggie is called home by her older sister. There, she is confronted with a renewed sibling rivalry, her ill mother, and a town that has lost its literal magick. Now Maggie must decide if she will use her newfound abilities to save her family and town, or run away once again.

In the tradition of 'Practical Magic' and 'Charmed', The Witches of Dark Root is a story of sisterhood, seamlessly weaving the past with the present, the magickal with the mundane. It is a tale of family, forgiveness, and the healing power of love that will leave readers believing in magick long after the story ends.

Welcome to Dark Root. We've been expecting you.

Other books in the Daughters of Dark Root series:
The Magick of Dark Root
The Curse of Dark Root: Part One
The Curse of Dark Root: Part Two
The Shadows of Dark Root

The Children of Dark Root Series:
Inherited Magick: The Children of Dark Root, Book One (2018)
Gifted Magick: The Children of Dark Root, Book Two (2019)

The Council of Dark Root: Armand (A Daughters of Dark Root Companion Novella) (2015)
Christmas in Dark Root: Merry's Gift (A Daughters of Dark Root Short) (Christmas, 2016)
A Dark Root Halloween

Show Me More:Fantasy

The Smartphone Addiction Restriction: It's Almost Too Late... by A Concerned Citizen Publishing

The Smartphone Addiction Restriction: It's Almost Too Late...by A Concerned Citizen Publishing

$0.99

Available through October 24 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

Use Your Phone, Don't Get Used By It.

Smartphones have transformed the world with their convenience and capabilities. A single small device can replace a landline, camera, CD player, and road map--but all of this miraculous technology comes with a cost.

The dark side of smartphones is not always so obvious. Checking your phone constantly from dawn until dusk has become normalized, and most people don't realize they're trapped in a very real addiction.

Smartphones have particularly powerful effects on our children, making them shallow, depressed, and unable to think critically. They exercise less, rarely socialize, get worse grades, and have lower self-esteem. In the most severe cases, they may even take their own lives.

Despite how common this addiction is, it is possible to overcome. The Smartphone Addiction Restriction is a guide for those who see the danger of the situation. We may not be able to quit using smartphones entirely, but with this tested and proven plan, we can limit their activity to the most essential uses.

In The Smartphone Addiction Restriction, you'll learn:
  • The way that smartphones were designed to be not just entertaining but addictive

  • Why smartphone users spend over five years of their lives swiping and clicking

  • A multiple-choice test to determine your personal level of addiction

  • All the things you'll have time for when you use your cell phone less

  • Tips and techniques to fight the urge to reach for your cell phone when your cravings hit

  • A step-by-step, day-by-day plan to reduce (or eliminate) your smartphone usage

And much more!

You can't live life to the fullest while you're staring at your phone. Even though smartphones are incredibly addictive, you--and your children--can break free of this dangerous habit. When you put down your phone, you'll find yourself happier, more confident, energized, and actually smarter! On The Smartphone Addiction Restriction plan, you'll cut your screen time down by 80% and possibly even further.

Show Me More:Nonfiction

Hawaiian Rumble (Coastal Rumble Book 1) by Matt Lincoln

Hawaiian Rumble (Coastal Rumble Book 1)by Matt Lincoln

FREE

Available through October 24 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

Kyle Davis was the best agent at MBLIS Hawaii, at least, he was until he retired. Now? Now he's just hoping to run his own woodworking shop. Or, at least, that would be the plan if the Hawaiian islands weren't torn apart by a gang war.

Show Me More:Action and Adventure

Split City by Andy Straka

Split Cityby Andy Straka

$0.99

Available through October 23 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

MEET BILLY GILLS, AN AMATEUR SLEUTH FOR THE AGES...OR AT LEAST FOR THE NEXT 300 PAGES.

Murder sees double in the Catskills when former pro bowler Billy Gills finds himself summoned to the Partridgeberry County morgue to identify the body of his identical twin brother Bo. Billy is the proprietor of Split City Lanes, a classic hometown bowling alley, located in the charmingly rundown, lakeside town of Twin Strikes. Partridgeberry and Twin Strikes are peopled by a hearty band of upstaters and oddball characters--an unlikely setting for murder. But Bo is the founder of TreadBo, a successful specialty bowling shoe manufacturer; he is famous for his quirky sense of fashion, fitness fanaticism, and unusual hobbies, which may have gotten him into trouble. Not to mention, Billy has some demons of his own to slay. Fortunately, Split City Lanes is also home to "Jesus Spares", a church service, bowling, and social gathering where almost anything can happen. Billy may need every ounce of faith he has to discover the truth about himself and his eccentric twin brother.

--For fans of Julia Spencer-Fleming, Dave Barry, Donna Andrews, Brad Parks, and Spencer Quinn.

Show Me More:Mysteries, Thrillers and Suspense